Save up to 75% on car insurance
Cheapest Rates from
$19/m
Start Here
Enter your zip code

Auto Insurance in Arizona

Rate this
(0 votes)

There are legally mandated minimum insurance requirements that all drivers must follow in Arizona. Do not purchase auto insurance in Arizona until you have all the facts. Below, we have provided you with a convenient source to find all the information you need to stay in compliance with state law.

Auto Insurance in Arizona

Arizona has relatively low coverage standards compared to other states. Still, you need to get informed about the legally mandated minimums so you can verify that your existing coverage, or the coverage you purchase in the future, is in compliance with the law.

Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in Arizona

Compliance with the law only requires liability auto insurance with:

- $15,000 to cover bodily injury expenses for each person
- Bodily injury coverage for at least two people, totaling $30,000 for each accident.
- $30,000 to cover total property damage for each accident

It is not enough to just have liability auto insurance with these minimums. You must also carry proof of insurance with you in your vehicle at all times. If you are stopped by law enforcement, you will be asked to provide this proof. Failure to do so could lead to suspension of a driver’s license on the first offense.

Using an SR-22 to Show Proof of Auto Insurance in Arizona

After your suspended license sentence is up, you will need to apply for reinstatement with the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division. The application process requires you to submit an SR-22 form that shows proof of financial responsibility. You will be required to carry that form in your vehicle for the first three years after a suspension is over.

Other Requirements Pertaining to Auto Insurance in Arizona

Some states require their drivers to have more than plain liability coverage. In most of those cases, it is either personal injury protection, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, or no-fault car insurance that is required. Currently, Arizona is not a state that requires any of these additional forms of protection. However, that does not mean that finding a policy with these options is not a good idea.

Experts Suggest Going Beyond the Minimum Auto Insurance in Arizona

Purchasing minimum auto insurance in Arizona is not a good idea. With help from Quotes2Compare, you should have no problem locating a quality policy with coverage that can keep pace with skyrocketing costs in medical care and vehicle maintenance. If you enter your zip code in the form at the top of this page, you will be on your way to saving hundreds on the best plan for your particular needs.

Facts about Arizona DUI Laws

First time DUI offenders are subject to a long list of potential penalties. Offenders can face several charges and fines, potentially adding up to $1,500. On top of that, they face imprisonment for up to 10 days and suspension of license for a minimum of 90 days but not more than 360 days. In some situations, the court may order an ignition interlock device to be installed at the offender’s expense.

Learn More About Auto Insurance in Arizona

To learn about all the important details pertaining to auto insurance in Arizona, you should contact the Division of Insurance at www.id.statr.az.us or over the phone at (602) 364-3100. Using government resources is a great way to ensure you receive reliable information. When you are ready to shop for auto insurance in Arizona, just enter your zip code in our form.

Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance

The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!

Zip Code
Select Your State
Need a quote?
Enter your zip code - It's fast, free and easy!

Choose Your State