Save up to 75% on car insurance
Cheapest Rates from
$19/m
Start Here
Enter your zip code

Auto Insurance in South Carolina

Rate this
(0 votes)

You do not have to search any longer for information about auto insurance in South Carolina. Are you looking for details regarding SR-22 requirements or liability auto insurance mandates? This is your one-stop resource for all the information you need to get protected and comply with the laws in South Carolina.

Auto Insurance in South Carolina

There is a law that requires all South Carolina drivers to maintain liability auto insurance. However, there is a way to opt out from the auto insurance mandate. If you are willing to pay an annual fee of $550, made directly to the Department of Public Safety, you can drive uninsured in South Carolina. It is important to understand that making the choice to drive without insurance could make you directly responsible for any damages incurred from an accident you are involved in. Even with the minimal level of insurance required by the liability insurance mandate, you would be significantly better protected from financial ruin due to an accident. If you choose not to carry insurance, you still have to carry proof of authorization to drive uninsured, which will be provided to you when you pay the annual fee. Those who choose not to pay the annual fee must be able to provide proof of insurance in their vehicle at all times.

Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in South Carolina

Liability auto insurance in South Carolina must at least cover:

- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 total bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 total property damage per accident

These coverage totals will help you deal with some costs incurred from some minor accidents, but they may not be enough to protect you financially when a catastrophic accident occurs. Minimum liability insurance is just that -- the minimum. Experts suggest drivers look to purchase more comprehensive coverage. You can find whatever kind of auto insurance you need by entering your zip code on this page.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in South Carolina

Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage is currently a requirement from the State of South Carolina. If you choose not to opt out of the mandate, your policy must include UM/UIM insurance that meets the same coverage standards that apply to liability coverage.

No-Fault Auto Insurance in South Carolina

South Carolina does not require any form of no-fault insurance.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Drivers are not required to carry personal injury protection.

SR-22 Requirements

If you do not know what an SR-22 is, you are probably not one of the drivers required to file this document with the state DMV. This document acts as proof of minimum insurance for drivers who are trying to reinstate their license and/or vehicle registration. It is a required part of the reinstatement process in South Carolina.

South Carolina’s DUI Laws

Drivers convicted of a DUI in South Carolina are going to be subject to a long list of potential penalties. The following items represent the maximum punishment for a first time DUI offense:

  • BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) under 0.10%
    • Two to 30 days imprisonment or 48 hours public service
    • $400 fine
    • Six month license suspension
  • BAC 0.10% to 0.16%
    • Three to 30 days imprisonment or 72 hours public service
    • $500 fine
    • Six month license suspension
  • BAC above 0.16%
    • 30 to 90 days imprisonment or 30 days public service
    • $1,000 fine
    • Six month license suspension

Additional Information about Auto Insurance in South Carolina

If you need a clarification about anything regarding auto insurance in South Carolina, you should direct your questions to the South Carolina Department of Insurance. You can call their office at (803) 737-6160 or you can visit them online at www.doi.sc.gov.

Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance

The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!

Zip Code
Select Your State
Need a quote?
Enter your zip code - It's fast, free and easy!

Choose Your State