Auto Insurance in Arkansas
Comparing auto premiums from multiple providers online is the fastest and most reliable way to save on auto insurance in Arkansas. Before you select the best plan for your situation you should get fully informed on the specific requirements in your state. We have all the information you need to know about auto insurance rates and regulations in Arkansas. Read on to make sure you are in full compliance with the law.
Auto Insurance in Arkansas
Drivers licensed in the state of Arkansas are required by law to have liability auto insurance. In Arkansas, drivers also are required to always carry proof of liability insurance in their vehicles. The Arkansas Office of Motor Vehicles and local law enforcement use a database that contains the VIN (vehicle identification number) of every registered vehicle in order to track active insurance policies. In the event of a lapsed policy, or a terminated policy due to failure of payment from the policy holder, the motor vehicle department will be notified within one month.
Failure to acquire or maintain liability auto insurance will result in suspended vehicle registration. You will need to obtain the proper coverage and provide proof in order to earn reinstatement for your vehicle.
Arkansas Minimum Liability Coverage
Arkansas vehicles need to comply with the state’s minimum liability amounts. The law requires at least:
- $25,000 bodily injury coverage for each person
- $50,000 total bodily injury coverage for each accident
- $25,000 total property damage coverage for each accident
If you can afford it, you should look for coverage that exceeds the Arkansas’ minimum standards. These amounts represent the lowest level of coverage you can have and still be in compliance with the law. However, most experts suggest that drivers select comprehensive and collision coverage beyond the state’s standard. Considering auto insurance minimum standards in most states have failed to rise at the same rates of inflation in medical care or vehicle repairs, it makes good financial sense to secure quality coverage above your state’s mandated level. To find the best rates on comprehensive coverage, just enter your zip code on this page.
Uninsured/Underinsured Coverage, Personal Injury Protection, and No-Fault Auto Insurance in Arkansas
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, PIP, and no-fault insurance are things to keep in mind. Some states mandate them but, currently, Arkansas is not a state that requires UM/UIM, PIP, or no-fault insurance.
Proving Minimum Liability Coverage for Auto Insurance in Arkansas
In most cases, drivers will need to file an SR-22 document with the DMV to reestablish driving privileges after they have been revoked. After incidents like DUI convictions, being caught without proof of insurance, or causing an auto accident while uninsured, drivers must send in an SR-22 form to reinstate their license, registration, and auto insurance in Arkansas.
Arkansas DUI Laws
In Arkansas, a first offense DUI conviction leads to several potential penalties, including:
- A minimum of one day and up to one year of community service or imprisonment
- A minimum of seven days and up to one year of community service or imprisonment in cases where a person 16 or under was in the vehicle at the time of the offense
- A fine ranging from $150 to $1,000
- Suspension of license for up to six months
- Possible installation of an ignition interlock device in the offender’s vehicle
- Mandatory enrollment in a substance abuse program
- Mandatory attendance at a victim impact panel
A DUI conviction can have a significant impact on your auto insurance in Arkansas. Make sure you are fully informed on your options before you go shopping for new coverage with a DUI on your record.
More Information about Auto Insurance in Arkansas
If you need more details about the auto insurance requirements in Arkansas, you should get in touch with the Arkansas Insurance department. They can be reached online at their website www.insurance.arkansas.gov or by phone at (501) 371-2600.
When you are ready to purchase auto insurance in Arkansas, just enter your zip code on this page to use our cheap insurance locater. Comparing providers and finding the best rates has never been easier!
Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance
The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!
- Alabama (AL)
- Alaska (AK)
- Arizona (AZ)
- Arkansas (AR)
- California (CA)
- Colorado (CO)
- Connecticut (CT)
- Delaware (DE)
- Florida (FL)
- Georgia (GA)
- Hawaii (HI)
- Idaho (ID)
- Illinois (IL)
- Indiana (IN)
- Iowa (IA)
- Kansas (KS)
- Kentucky (KY)
- Louisiana (LA)
- Maine (ME)
- Maryland (MD)
- Massachusetts (MA)
- Michigan (MI)
- Minnesota (MN)
- Mississippi (MS)
- Missouri (MO)
- Montana (MT)
- Nebraska (NE)
- Nevada (NV)
- New Hampshire (NH)
- New Jersey (NJ)
- New Mexico (NM)
- New York (NY)
- North Carolina (NC)
- North Dakota (ND)
- Ohio (OH)
- Oklahoma (OK)
- Oregon (OR)
- Pennsylvania (PA)
- Rhode Island (RI)
- South Carolina (SC)