Save up to 75% on car insurance
Cheapest Rates from
$19/m
Start Here
Enter your zip code

Auto Insurance in Alabama

Rate this
(0 votes)

Before you seek out the best deal on auto insurance in Alabama, you need to make sure you are fully informed about state law regarding coverage for vehicles. Auto insurance in Alabama must adhere to certain minimum requirements. We have compiled the facts into one easy resource for drivers. Read on to learn about the intricacies of your state’s car insurance laws.

Auto Insurance in Alabama

You need to know the laws regarding auto insurance in Alabama. As of 2013, drivers are required to have liability auto insurance that meets some minimum standards. The state also requires drivers to have proof of their car insurance coverage in their vehicle at all times. You must be able to show proof of insurance after an accident, during the vehicle registration process, or whenever you are pulled over. Failure to do so could lead to suspension of your driver’s license and a fine of $500 or less. This even applies to first offenses.

Alabama does allow alternative forms of coverage. If you secure a cash deposit worth at least $50,000 or you file a liability bond with the Department of Motor Vehicles, you will have coverage that meets the state auto insurance requirements. Qualifying coverage is easy to find if you enter your zip code in the form above.

Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in Alabama

There minimum coverage standards that apply to auto insurance in Alabama. In order to comply with the state’s standards, you must be able to prove you have:

- $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person
- $50,000 in total bodily injury coverage for each accident
- $25,000 total property damage coverage per accident

Most experts will tell you to look for higher coverage standards when shopping for auto insurance in Alabama. The cost of vehicle repairs and medical care continues to rise rapidly and state insurance standards are bound to lag behind. Look into adding collision and comprehensive coverage in order to better protect yourself and your passengers. You can find the coverage you need at the best price available by entering your zip code in the form at the top of this page.

PIP, UI/UIM, and No-Fault Auto Insurance in Alabama

Alabama does not require drivers to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, nor does it require no-fault or personal injury protection auto insurance. Some states do include these features in their list of requirements. Stay informed to ensure you keep pace with any changes in the law.

DUI Laws in Alabama

Blood alcohol content of 0.08% and above will earn you a DUI charge in Alabama. First time offenders have their driving privileges revoked for 90 days and face potential jail sentences and fines. Due to the implied consent law in place in Alabama, denying a blood alcohol content test results in automatic suspension of a driver’s license.

SR-22 Forms

Some drivers will need to file an SR-22 document before they can earn reinstatement of their driving privileges. If you have been convicted of a DUI or you were caught driving without your proof of insurance, you will be expected to file an SR-22. You should consult the Alabama DMV for more information about these forms.

More Information

You should seek out official resources for more in-depth information about auto insurance in Alabama. Head over to www.aldoi.gov or call the Department of Insurance at 334-269-3550.

Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance

The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!

Zip Code
Select Your State
More in this category: Auto Insurance in Alaska »
Need a quote?
Enter your zip code - It's fast, free and easy!

Choose Your State