Auto Insurance in Connecticut
Connecticut drivers must obtain liability auto insurance with a minimum of $40,000 bodily injury coverage and $10,000 property damage coverage per accident. Law enforcement will cite and penalize you for failure to comply with the law. To get informed and avoid potential $200 fines and other punishment, read our convenient guide to auto insurance in Connecticut.
Auto Insurance in Connecticut
There are a few key laws regarding auto insurance in Connecticut. In order to avoid penalties and fines, all drivers in this state must obtain minimum liability coverage and always carry proof of their insurance policy in their vehicle.
If you are pulled over by law enforcement, you will be asked to show proof of insurance. Drivers who are unable to produce proof of valid policy face a potential citation. The Connecticut Division of Motor Vehicles is automatically informed by your insurance company in the event that your policy lapses or is canceled for your registered vehicle. When the DMV learns of your discontinued policy, they will contact you to inform you that you must officially present proof of a new policy. Failure to provide proof of a replacement policy will potentially subject you to a $200 fine.
Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in Connecticut
Your liability auto insurance in Connecticut must meet some minimum coverage standards. The state requires all drivers to possess coverage in excess of:
- $20,000 bodily injury per person
- $40,000 total bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 total property damage per accident
These state-mandated coverage minimums are simply the rock-bottom legal standard. Experts advise that drivers not treat these numbers as standard to use when shopping for auto insurance in Connecticut. After all, medical care costs and vehicle repairs are always getting more and more expensive. It is rare for state coverage mandates to keep pace with those rising costs. If you want to make sure you have adequate protection for your assets and loved ones, you should look for coverage that is more extensive and provides more coverage than is laid out in the state minimum.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Also known as UM/UIM coverage, this auto insurance feature will help protect you in cases where you are involved in an accident with an underinsured or uninsured driver. While many states do not require their drivers to purchase this kind of coverage, Connecticut has taken a different stance. All drivers in Connecticut must have UM/UIM insurance that covers a minimum of two people in the vehicle at $20,000 per person. That adds up to a minimum total of $40,000 per accident for bodily injury for accidents caused by underinsured or uninsured drivers.
Connecticut is in line with most other states when it comes to no-fault car insurance. Drivers in this state are not required to have no-fault coverage.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Connecticut drivers are not required to purchase personal injury protection as part of their car insurance policy.
In some cases, Connecticut drivers who have had their driving privileges revoked will have to file an SR-22 form in order to achieve reinstatement. Getting caught driving without proof of insurance, causing an accident as an uninsured driver, and being convicted of a DUI are the most common infractions that lead to suspension of a drivers license and the eventual need for an SR-22.
Connecticut DUI Laws
First time DUI offenders receive the following maximum punishment in Connecticut:
- Vehicle towed and impounded for 48 hours
- $500 to $1000 fine
- One year license suspension
- 48 hours to 6 months imprisonment
- Mandatory substance abuse program completion
Additional Information on Auto Insurance in Connecticut
If you have any questions or there is any additional information you need to know about auto insurance in Connecticut, you should contact the Connecticut Insurance Department at (860) 297-3800 or go to their website at www.ct.gov/cid.
Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance
The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!
- Alabama (AL)
- Alaska (AK)
- Arizona (AZ)
- Arkansas (AR)
- California (CA)
- Colorado (CO)
- Connecticut (CT)
- Delaware (DE)
- Florida (FL)
- Georgia (GA)
- Hawaii (HI)
- Idaho (ID)
- Illinois (IL)
- Indiana (IN)
- Iowa (IA)
- Kansas (KS)
- Kentucky (KY)
- Louisiana (LA)
- Maine (ME)
- Maryland (MD)
- Massachusetts (MA)
- Michigan (MI)
- Minnesota (MN)
- Mississippi (MS)
- Missouri (MO)
- Montana (MT)
- Nebraska (NE)
- Nevada (NV)
- New Hampshire (NH)
- New Jersey (NJ)
- New Mexico (NM)
- New York (NY)
- North Carolina (NC)
- North Dakota (ND)
- Ohio (OH)
- Oklahoma (OK)
- Oregon (OR)
- Pennsylvania (PA)
- Rhode Island (RI)
- South Carolina (SC)